13.—Lieutenant-Governors of Provinces and Territories, 1867-1946, Legislatures and Prime Ministers, 1934-46, and Present Ministries as at Jan. 1, 1947—continued

BRITISH COLUMBIA—concluded

LEGISLATURES, 1934-461

Date of	Legislature	Number of	Date of	Date of
Election		Sessions	First Opening	Dissolution
Nov. 2, 1933 June 1, 1937 Oct. 21, 1941 Oct. 25, 1945	18th General Assembly 19th General Assembly 20th General Assembly 21st General Assembly	5 4	Feb. 20, 1934	July 22, 1941 Aug. 31, 1945

¹ The Ministries from 1934-46 were: 22nd Ministry sworn in Nov. 15, 1933, under the leadership of Hon. T. D. Pattullo; 23rd Ministry, sworn in Dec. 10, 1941, under the leadership of Hon. John Hart. ² Life of Legislature not yet expired.

TWENTY-THIRD MINISTRY

(Party standing at latest General Election, Oct. 25, 1945: 37 Coalition [26 Liberals, 11 Conservatives], 10 Co-operative Commonwealth Federation and 1 Labour.)

Office	Name	Date of Appointment	
Premier and President of the Executive Council	Hon. John Hart	Apr. 12, 1946 Apr. 12, 1946 Nov. 19, 1948 Oct. 1, 1946	

YUKON TERRITORY

Note.—The Yukon, formerly a District of the Northwest Territories, was made a separate Territory in 1898. The Yukon Act provides for a local government composed of a Chief Executive, styled Commissioner but since classified as Controller; also an elective Legislative Council of three members having a three-year tenure of office. The Yukon Territorial Council performs much the same functions as do the Provincial Governments. The Controller functions in lieu of the Provincial Cabinet and the three members of the Territorial Council function in lieu of the Provincial Parliament. The seat of local government is at Dawson, but the Controller acts under instructions from the Governor General in Council or the Minister of Mines and Resources at Ottawa. The Commissioners who held office previous to the present are listed at p. 78 of the 1946 Year Book.

CONTROLLER

TERRITORIAL COUNCIL

(Three members elected 1944, for 3 years)

THE NORTHWEST TERRITORIES

Nore.—In 1888, the Districts of Alberta, Assiniboia, Athabaska, and Saskatchewan, then called the Northwest Territories, with their capital at Regina, were given responsible government, and the former Northwest Council was replaced by the Northwest Legislature, which existed until Aug. 31, 1905. When the area included in these Districts was formed into the Provinces of Alberta and Saskatchewan on Sept. 1 1905, these provinces were given systems of government similar to the other provinces of the Dominion. The prevailing form of government for the remaining part of the Territories was discontinued in 1905 and